a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do

Standard

today, my beloved friend steve lost his mother and the world lost one of the good ones.

to leave every person you touched with such fond memories and wonderful experiences is the sign of a life well lived. when the time comes to collectively mourn her passing, there will be no shortage of stories to be told. here’s mine.

back in the day, when visits to the valley were a regular occurrence, i sat reconnecting with steve’s brother. tim asked me if i was still dating a particular rock star. not certain to whom he was referring, i looked at pauline and hesitantly turned back to tim, “ummmm…which…one???” steve, behind his hand and in a fake whisper hissed (in jest!) “mom, she’s a slut.” this was when she scoffed at the boys, shrugged at me and i can still see and hear her say today, “a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do, right?” right.

we’ll miss you, pauline
rest in peace

sincere condolences to all members of the chapman family and to every heart that felt her reach.
for those of you who didn’t, i’m sorry as well.

7 responses »

  1. Mom Chapman I don’t ever new my real first name, to her I was just Schneider…….she was a one of a kind lady and you always knew how she felt when you asked asked her a question, there was no black or white with her. (that apple didn’t fall far from the tree if you know her offspring).

    Your children and family will dearly miss you as well as all of us who had the pleasure of meeting you throughout the years.

    We’ll lift many a toast in your honour I am sure in the future.

  2. Pauline, my great-aunt, was one of the most amazing people I’ve ever met and I’m going to miss her immensely.
    I didn’t get the chance to see her half as often as I would have like to because I’m in England, but when I did it was always the greatest pleasure. She made me laugh so much and was always so caring but at the same time wouldn’t sugar the pill and always said what she thought. I was often punched on the arm whilst she called me a ‘bloody bugger’.
    I will think of her always and my thoughts are with Steve, Sue and Tim and everyone else who was lucky enough to have her in their lives.
    I’ll miss her so much.

  3. My very best to a family with a lot to think about during these times. I’ve only ever met Steve and he’s a wonderful person and I’m sure he’s only a fraction of the person Pauline was. Big hugs,

    Dave

talk to me

