a dally into kombucha

Standard

look at this page, catch a glimpse of any of the stuff i love and you’ve got to know that i’d be all over this product. i’ve gazed longingly at the fancy, bright bottles for months in fridges all over town. drinks are kevin’s thing, though. i almost always opt for water. (just last week, i could be heard bellowing form the kitchen, “you know what drink i love? water!”) in our family, christmas was always a time when we bought special foods that we only had around once a year to celebrate the holidays. in that spirit, i finally indulged my desire and picked up the four bottles pictured on my christmas eve capricorn adventure.

just because i bought them didn’t mean they’d be gobbled up immediately. instead it took me a week or so to even dig into the first one. i didn’t know much about kombucha. do you?

Kombucha is an effervescent tea-based beverage that is often drunk for its anecdotal health benefits or medicinal purposes. Kombucha is available commercially and can be made at home by fermenting tea using a visible, solid mass of yeast and bacteria which forms the kombucha culture, often referred to as 酵母 (lit. “yeast mother”).

i’ll give you that from wikipedia. if you read further, the picture painted isn’t so pretty. the selling points are the debatable claims that it detoxifies the body and energizes the mind. you can see plastered all over the labeling that plenty is promised by this maker.

over the span of about ten days, i got through the final three. the first i tried was the citrus and, i’m not going to lie to you, there were times i didn’t think i would and i can’t promise you i actually finished it. i don’t know how to describe how it tastes. it’s yeasty and at the same time a little like old, bad wine and slightly fizzy. i don’t make it sound appealing because it wasn’t. it was gross.

i wasn’t always sure that i’d give the others a chance after experience number one. i didn’t have a lot of faith. however, at about $4 a pop, i wasn’t about to straight pour them down the drain.

up next: cosmic cranberry. the drinker is warned about a residue that naturally exists in kombucha. “strands of the culture may appear.” in the case of the red drink, they were more like blood clots. pretty icky, but the taste was a vast improvement.

#3: multi-green. i love green stuff. if i loved the base of a kombucha drink, i’d have loved this one. of the greenery, i was a fan. of the slightly off flavour that ran common to all of them, not so much.

finally: gingerberry. i ended on a high note. sipping gingerly (heh) i was able to keep the chunky stuff at the bottom of the bottle while enjoying the flavour of this one. the ginger has just enough bite to make absent the overpowering taste of the bacteria/yeast/whatever you want to call it.

the sick thing about me is that the product is still just so candy to my eye that i will probably want to buy a bunch of them every single time i see them. sometimes i probably will. i think kombucha may be a taste i can acquire. i’m just not sure it’s at a price that my wallet can.

3 responses »

  1. I’m crazy for kombucha now but I definitely had to “acquire” a taste for it. The green is my fave by far! It’s a great pick me up for that mid afternoon energy crash. I’m hoping to start home brewing to save some $$$$. I hear it’s pretty easy

    • I’ve read up on it and it does sound pretty easy. I’m just worried that I don’t have the attention span! 😉 I can’t wait to hear how it goes for you. I’ll give it a try myself after you master it.

  2. I think you lost me at blood clot. I’ve seen others around and wondered about them, but too am usually hesitant where it’s a few bills per bottle. Let me know how you progress with them. Maybe I’ll pick one up to test it out, but definitely not cranberry!

talk to me

