we bought a zoo

Standard

all you need is twenty seconds of insane courage and i promise you something great will come of it.

we see a lot of movies. in fact, i’m positive that i’ve made more trips to the theatre in the past near year since kevin and i have been dating than i have in the rest of my life added up. that is not one word of a lie. i kind of suck at movies because i almost never remember them. i’m actually lucky if i remember whether i liked them or not. i do know that we see movies of all types.

95% per cent of the time, kevin picks the movie and i just shrug and say “sure.” most recently, we saw we bought a zoo. i’ll admit, i wasn’t sold going into it. the last zoo movie i’d let myself be led into involved talking animals (not a fan.) turns out we bought a zoo was really worth going to see (a second time for one of us.)

a few things:

  • the most distinct cameron crowe-esque feature was the outstanding soundtrack (sigur rós, echo & the bunnymen, neil young, bob dylan, tom petty…)
  • matt damon is a damn good actor – he may be a lot of tings, but he mastered this character’s anguish
  • i only recognized patrick fugit (william miller in almost famous) all grown up by his voice – his face only became familiar to me after i’d figured out it was him, 3/4 of the way through
  • the little girl who played rosie will make your ovaries ache
  • the story is nice in the way that it makes you want to stand up and cheer at the end – it’s a movie totally worth checking out 🙂

*.*.*

other movies we’ve seen recently:

6 responses »

  1. Oh, this was a good one! Movies are a holiday tradition for my family. Christmas-to-New Year’s week included We Bought a Zoo (feel-good-movie-of-the-year material), The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (incredible) and New Years Eve (exceeded expectations).

  2. New Year’s Eve exceeded expectations, huh? Good to know! I’ve been pushing for that one for a while. Despite awful reviews, we’ll probably see the Devil Inside next. Just for the cheese factor.

    Did you read Girl with the Dragon Tattoo??

  3. I love movies. I just watched several, having enjoyed two eight hour flights with in-flight movies. I watched:
    Rise of the Planet of the Apes (mildly interesting until halway through, then it got ridiculous)
    Mr. And Mrs. Smith (an oldie but a goodie, even though I’m not a fan of Brad or Angelina)
    Les femmes du 6ème étage (very sweet, I loved it, except for the hokey ending)
    Of Gods and Men (LOVED. Interesting true story that had me riveted)

    I’m interested in your review of War Horse; the story has me interested, but the trailers make it look like the most boring, sappy movie of all time. Will give it a second look.

  4. Oh the Devil Inside..i was just talking about that movie the other night. Eek. And I’m a horror film girl.
    I finally say Crazy, Stupid, Love and well, loved. I’m looking to expand my movie repertoire as I’m always 8 months behind (DVD version) of almost everything.

    And for the record, I’ve always loved Matt Damon! “How do you like them apples?”

  5. I really want to see this but i imagine it will be a renter. I think we may go to the movies tonight to see Mission Impossible.

    Oh and talking animal movies are just never acceptable on any level.

talk to me

