i could totally do that

Standard

a couple of things on my mind the very busy morning of this very busy day. mostly, tackling my to do list is to my advantage today because if i’m successful, that will free me up to face the very fun task of birthday celebrating tomorrow… if not, then i’ll be forced to cave and do something i have always refused to do on that sacred day – work. ick!

*.*.*

if you were following along on twitter last night, you may have read mention of the plans constance and i had to check out a little seminar for making vision boards. all day, i as super stoked about the event. we even made a special trip to ikea to scout frames for our as yet unfinished (unstarted!) motivational masterpieces.

i know it seems hokey to some, but i totally believe in that kind of thing. i know all the principles of the law of attraction and i (try to) abide them. as you can probably tell sometimes, i’ve always tended to that line of thinking and have been exposed to a lot of new agey-type peeps in my life.

we started the class by talking about loa and expanded to using images and words and everything else to manifest the life you really want to live. pretty straight-forward stuff. i wasn’t there to learn, to be honest, i was just there to get the job done. put another way: i knew that attending would make me sit down and actually act instead of just thinking about it. (in theory, i needed to make a vision board for making my real vision board.)

at some point during the two hour session, my friend looked at me and said what i had been denying myself to think for the duration:

you could totally teach this

i knew that. and it kind of made me wonder why i’m not.

it’s by no means a criticism of the teacher. she was nice and sweet and presented the process without a hitch. there was this one thing, however, that just stuck in my craw. we talked a lot about the process and the belief behind it and we also talked about how sometimes when you go after things and don’t succeed, you need to take a different angle and try again. this led to the conscious practice of learning from our mistakes/frustrations/setbacks. she mentioned her vision board and how she’d thought about bringing it, but then decided not to because, for her, it just isn’t something she is comfortable sharing with everyone. i totally get that – until, that is, she expanded by saying “because if i show you what i wanted to do and then totally fail, people are going to think (mumbles about botched credibility…) huh? if we learn from every challenge and we either adapt our desired outcome or we take a different approach, how does a word like failure even exist? as far as i’m concerned, it shouldn’t. not in any of our vocabularies and certainly not in hers while presenting.

i feel a little guilty about airing that criticism, but i just found it so counterproductive. we were able to carry on and keep moving toward our end goal, but we did share a knowing look and a rehash after we left.

and, me, i’m on the fence about whether i will share my vision board when it’s done. i’m focusing on 2012 in its entirely and on the one little word i’ve chosen for it, but the piece is still in its infant stages of creation. i have a little way to go until its completion. hopefully, that can happen before the ball drops on sunday.

grady has mastered the law of attraction: she envisioned a life of relaxation and food aplenty and now she lives it!

4 responses »

  1. I always believed that I would love to be a teacher, and would be very good at it, but I’m rather fond of not being poor, so….

    I’m always amused at how we cover up failure. A far more interesting resumé to me would be the one that listed all the failures encountered and how the person overcame them (or learned from them), vs. simply listing all the successes.

    It’s one of the items I’m trying to teach my son in spades — failure is ok, as long as you try, and keep trying. He already has exhibited my own tendency to value perfection only and anything else is bunk.

    And this comment is going to trail off as I have lost any sort of conclusion to it….

    • Funny, Nathan. I never ever ever thought I would be a good teacher, but have learned from my most recent project that I enjoy it vastly more than I suspected I would.

      Re: failure. I think we’re saying the same thing. (Are we?)

      • It’s always been my retirement dream to sit beneath an old oak tree, philosophy students gathered around me, while I bend and twist their minds into pretzels with logic and then smile while I watch them try to untangle themselves. It doesn’t look like I’ll ever get to that point, but it’s a nice vision.

        Yes, we’re saying the same thing on failure, I think, I’m just acknowledging it.

  2. I too have thought about teaching from time to time. (get out your laughs now kids)…but seriously, when I’m explaining to someone how to do something, I’m quite good. I’ve been on the other end (the learning side) and I know how to deliver.

    I just don’t think I have the patience for everyone… and for that.. I don’t think I could sustain that practice for very long.

talk to me

